Valeriy Sokolov plays Tchaikovsky


  • Claude Debussy Feux d'artifice from Preludes
  • Claude Debussy Feuilles mortes from Preludes
  • Claude Debussy Ce qu'a vu le vent d'ouest from Preludes
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
  • Sofia Gubaidoelina Der Zorn Gottes (Dutch premiere)
  • Claude Debussy La mer

After Colin Matthews' orchestrated version of some of Debussy's piano preludes, Valeriy Sokolov* performs Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto. In this work, the violin was, according to one critic, 'flogged, demolished and beaten black and blue'. Tchaikovsky could quote the entire review from memory for the rest of his life. Then comes a long-awaited Dutch premiere, namely Der Zorn Gottes by the Russian composer Sofia Gubaidoelina (1931), who is especially praised in the West. It is a turbulent instrumental work, originally intended as the finale to her 2016 oratorio Über Liebe und Hass. The year 2020 gave her the time to develop it as an independent composition. The final piece is La mer by Debussy, an impressive 'portrait' of water and its appearances. Quiet and rippling, but also wild and whirling. Admirers once called it 'the best French symphony ever composed'.

* The violinist Pekka Kuusisto, who was originally announced for this concert, has been unable to attend due to personal circumstances. He will be replaced by the Ukrainian violinist Valeriy Sokolov, winner of the International Violin Competition George Enescu in Bucharest.

Friday 13 May 2022
8:15 pm

Large Hall


Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Go to the website
Nicholas Collon
Valeriy Sokolov

Coming soon

Stéphane Denève
Sunday, December 10, 2023
The Sunday Morning Concert

Fauré's Requiem by the Great Broadcasting Choir

Carolin Widmann
Saturday, December 16, 2023
NTR Saturday Matinee

Ligeti central: from Atmosphères to Violin Concerto

Friday, December 22, 2023
AVROTROS Friday Concert

AVROTROS Christmas Concert

Saturday, December 23, 2023

NPO Radio 4 Christmas concert

Unsuk Chin
Saturday, January 13, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Orchestral fireworks by Chin and Stravinsky

Karina Canellakis (c) Marco Borggreve
Thursday, January 18, 2024
Other series

Pieces of Tomorrow - Music of Leonard Bernstein

Karina Canellakis - Photo23 Eduardus Lee
Friday, January 19, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Karina Canellakis with an American program

Sunday, January 21, 2024
The Sunday Morning Concert

Symphonic dances from West Side Story - Barnatan plays Gershwin

Simone Lamsma
Saturday, January 27, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Lamsma/Vänskä: dream duo in Nielsen's Violin Concerto

Hannes Minnaar
Friday, February 2, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Hannes Minnaar with Brahms' Second Piano Concerto

Follow us on social media