Karina Canellakis and the RFO (Photo: Ronald Knapp)

Radio Philharmonic Orchestra

The Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1945 by Albert van Raalte. The orchestra was subsequently conducted by Paul van Kempen, Bernard Haitink, Jean Fournet, Willem van Otterloo, Hans Vonk, Sergiu Comissiona, Edo de Waart, Jaap van Zweden and Markus Stenz.

After a high-profile debut with the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra in March 2018, American conductor Karina Canellakis took over as chief conductor in September 2019.


Coming soon

Nicola Benedetti
Friday 1 October 2021
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Canellakis and Benedetti play Szymanowski

Saturday 9 October 2021
NTR Saturday Matinee

Phoenix Reborn: Music about climate change

Friday 15 October 2021
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Classic Top 400 Concert

Sunday 17 October 2021
The Sunday Morning Concert

Classical Top 400: Dvoráks From the New World

Saturday, 30 October 2021
NTR Saturday Matinee

Sibelius' Violin Concerto and the Scream of Nature

Saturday 6 November 2021
NTR Saturday Matinee

World premiere: Carnival of Shades, and The Planets


Tim Kliphuis

Tim Kliphuis on climate change

Read more

Nicola Benedetti is back in the AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert!

Read more
Karina Canellalis - photo56 Marco Borggreve
Posted on
22 September 2021

Karina Canellakis and Radio Philharmonic Orchestra extend cooperation

Read more

A world premiere for Jan-Peter de Graaff (after all)

Read more
Karina Canellakis - Photo11 Eduardus Lee

Larcher's latest symphony: over peaks, and through deep valleys

Read more
Posted on
25 August 2021

Prinsengracht concert 2021

Read more

Musicians from the RFO

Here you can see a weekly changing selection of musicians from the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra.

Follow us on social media