Benjamin-Goodson

Ode to Music Making

Programme

  • Robert Schumann Parts from Vier doppelchörige Gesänge opus 141
  • Remy Van Kesteren Nocturne
  • Georgi Sztojanov Essence - an ode to music making, from Studies on spheres, (divine) bodies and music (world premiere)
  • Johannes Brahms Four Quartets opus 92
  • Remy Van Kesteren Tomorrow eyes
  • Francis Poulenc Figure humaine


Special about this programme is the commissioned work, composed by one of the singers of the Groot Omroepkoor: Georgi Sztojanov. He is not only a tenor but also a composer and, as vocal coach of the choir, he knows the choir's vocal qualities inside out. That is why he composed this Ode to Music Making, written for the GOK, on the recommendation of Benjamin Goodson. Twelve minutes of the very latest music for four-part choir, flute, cello, horn, piano/celesta and percussion.


Ticket sales AVROTROS Friday Concert season 2022-23
Starting Tuesday 22 March '22: series tickets
From Tuesday 29 March '22: single tickets and series selections

Date:
Friday 7 October 2022
Time:
8:15 pm
Intermission:
Yes
Location:
TivoliVredenburg

Utrecht
-
Large Hall

Performers

Musicians from the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Benjamin Goodson - Photo: Paolo Ferla
Benjamin Goodson
Conductor, Choral Conductor, Speaking role
View profile
Netherlands Radio Choir
Choir
Go to the website
Remy van Kesteren
Harp
Charlotte Janssen
Soprano, in Sztojanov
View profile
Jan Willem Schaafsma
Tenor, in Sztojanov
Ben Martin Weijand
Piano
View profile

Coming soon

Friday, August 23, 2024

Concert market Hilversum 600

Saturday, August 24, 2024
Other series

Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4 and Chopin's Piano Concerto No. 2

Saturday, September 7, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Jaap van Zweden & Der Fliegende Holländer

Friday, September 13, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Opening concert: Stravinsky's Petrushka

Sunday, September 15, 2024
The Sunday Morning Concert

Karina Canellakis conducts Stravinsky's Petrushka

Saturday, September 21, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

The wonderful solitude of Samuel Adams

Thursday, Sept. 26, 2024
Other series

Pieces of Tomorrow - Brahms 4

Friday, September 27, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Brahms and Beethoven

Sunday, September 29, 2024
The Sunday Morning Concert

Ronald Brautigam in Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 3

Saturday, October 5, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Icelandic crown jewels

Follow us on social media