Weihnachts-Oratorium Netherlands Bach Society

Programme

  • Beethoven Heiliger Dankgesang from the string quartet opus 132
  • Finzi The salutation (from Dies natalis)
  • Handel Eternal source of light divine

On Christmas Day 1734, a large crowd of churchgoers gathered in St. Thomas Church in Leipzig. Something special is about to take place. Cantor Bach has prepared a large-scale work that will be performed over several days: the Christmas Oratorio. Impressive timpani strokes reverberate through the space. Flutes and oboes join in, followed by blaring trumpets and whirling strings. The Nederlandse Bachvereniging brings this jubilant mood about the birth of Jesus to the listeners of the Friday concert. Brilliant works by Bach's contemporary Gottfried Heinrich Stölzel and his great example from Lübeck, Dietrich Buxtehude, add to the Christmas atmosphere.

Date:
Saturday, February 24, 2024
Time:
8:15 pm
Intermission:
No
Location:
Large Hall

Performers

Coming soon

Friday, March 1, 2024
Other series

Luncheon Concert - Painting Exhibition of Mussorgsky

TARMO PELTOKOSKI
Saturday, March 2, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Encounter between two young masters

Alina Ibragimova
Friday, March 8, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Lintu and Ibragimova play Nielsen & Sibelius

Alina Ibragimova
Sunday, March 10, 2024
The Sunday Morning Concert

Alina Ibragimova plays Sibelius' Violin Concerto

Karina Canellakis
Saturday, March 23, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Karina Canellakis covers The Makropulos Case

Stephan Zilias
Friday, March 29, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Frank Martin: Golgotha

Paul McCreesh
Saturday, April 6, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Paul McCreesh: a Trauersymphonie and a grand Requiem

Edo de Waart
Thursday, April 11, 2024
Other series

Pieces of Tomorrow - Mendelssohn 3

Edo de Waart
Friday, April 12, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Edo de Waart: The 'Scottish' of Mendelssohn

Sunday, April 14, 2024
The Sunday Morning Concert

Edo de Waart conducts Mendelssohn's Scottish symphony

Follow us on social media