Sergey Khachatryan - photo: Marco Borggreve

Sergey Khatchatryan plays Brahms


  • Robert Schumann Ouvertüre, Scherzo und Finale
  • Alphons Diepenbrock Suite Elektra
  • Johannes Brahms Violin Concerto

In this concert the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra and the Romanian conductor Cristian Măcelaru pay attention to the Netherlands' greatest composer around 1900, Alphons Diepenbrock, who died on 5 April 1921. His music accompanies the Greek tragedy Elektra, in which he was a classical scholar. Brahms' thorough Violin Concerto is on the music stand, a work that in his time was considered unplayable by many, 'ein Konzert gegen die Violine'. Then, in his Concert for Orchestra, the Pole Lutosławski treats all orchestra players as virtuosos. The simultaneous use of opposing time signatures and rhythms is a symbol of peaceful coexistence. Is it strange that the work was premiered not long after Stalin's death?

Friday 16 April 2021
8:15 pm

Large Hall


Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Go to the website
Cristian Macelaru - photo: Sorin Popa
Cristian Măcelaru
Sergey Khachatryan - photo: Marco Borggreve
Sergey Khachatryan

Coming soon

Karina Canellakis (c) Marco Borggreve
Friday, December 1, 2023
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Karina Canellakis with Mahler's First Symphony

Karina Canellakis (c) Marco Borggreve
Sunday, December 3, 2023
The Sunday Morning Concert

Karina Canellakis conducts Mahler's Symphony No. 1

Stéphane Denève
Thursday, December 7, 2023
Other series

Pieces of Tomorrow - Requiem by Fauré

Stéphane Denève
Friday, December 8, 2023
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Stéphane Denève conducts Fauré's Requiem

Stéphane Denève
Sunday, December 10, 2023
The Sunday Morning Concert

Fauré's Requiem by the Great Broadcasting Choir

Carolin Widmann
Saturday, December 16, 2023
NTR Saturday Matinee

Ligeti central: from Atmosphères to Violin Concerto

Friday, December 22, 2023
AVROTROS Friday Concert

AVROTROS Christmas Concert

Saturday, December 23, 2023

NPO Radio 4 Christmas concert

Unsuk Chin
Saturday, January 13, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Orchestral fireworks by Chin and Stravinsky

Karina Canellakis (c) Marco Borggreve
Thursday, January 18, 2024
Other series

Pieces of Tomorrow - Music of Leonard Bernstein

Follow us on social media