Karina Canellakis

Mahler 6 with Karina Canellakis

Programme

  • Gustav Mahler Sixth symphony


Gustav Mahler himself found his Sixth Symphony difficult to conduct. The work had to mature in the ears of conductors, orchestras and listeners, mainly because of its scale and tragedy. For eighty minutes, fear and doubt loom large. But the master of contrast also has cowbells ringing in an Alpine valley and a xylophone in a haunting scherzo. The Andante is mild and rural, quoting from Mahler's Kindertotenlieder. And the long last movement contains huge strokes of fate.

Date:
Friday 17 February 2023
Time:
8:15 pm
Intermission:
No
Location:
TivoliVredenburg

Utrecht
-
Large Hall

Performers

Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Go to the website
Karina Canellakis, chief conductor RFO
Karina Canellakis
Conductor
View profile

Coming soon

Friday, March 1, 2024
Other series

Luncheon Concert - Painting Exhibition of Mussorgsky

TARMO PELTOKOSKI
Saturday, March 2, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Encounter between two young masters

Alina Ibragimova
Friday, March 8, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Lintu and Ibragimova play Nielsen & Sibelius

Alina Ibragimova
Sunday, March 10, 2024
The Sunday Morning Concert

Alina Ibragimova plays Sibelius' Violin Concerto

Karina Canellakis
Saturday, March 23, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Karina Canellakis covers The Makropulos Case

Stephan Zilias
Friday, March 29, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Frank Martin: Golgotha

Paul McCreesh
Saturday, April 6, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Paul McCreesh: a Trauersymphonie and a grand Requiem

Edo de Waart
Thursday, April 11, 2024
Other series

Pieces of Tomorrow - Mendelssohn 3

Edo de Waart
Friday, April 12, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Edo de Waart: The 'Scottish' of Mendelssohn

Sunday, April 14, 2024
The Sunday Morning Concert

Edo de Waart conducts Mendelssohn's Scottish symphony

Follow us on social media