Karina Canellakis

Mahler 6 with Karina Canellakis

Programme

  • Gustav Mahler Sixth symphony


Gustav Mahler himself found his Sixth Symphony difficult to conduct. The work had to mature in the ears of conductors, orchestras and listeners, mainly because of its scale and tragedy. For eighty minutes, fear and doubt loom large. But the master of contrast also has cowbells ringing in an Alpine valley and a xylophone in a haunting scherzo. The Andante is mild and rural, quoting from Mahler's Kindertotenlieder. And the long last movement contains huge strokes of fate.

Date:
Friday 17 February 2023
Time:
8:15 pm
Intermission:
No
Location:
TivoliVredenburg

Utrecht
-
Large Hall

Performers

Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Go to the website
Karina Canellakis, chief conductor RFO
Karina Canellakis
Conductor
View profile

Coming soon

Friday, August 23, 2024

Concert market Hilversum 600

Saturday, August 24, 2024
Other series

Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4 and Chopin's Piano Concerto No. 2

Saturday, September 7, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Jaap van Zweden & Der Fliegende Holländer

Friday, September 13, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Opening concert: Stravinsky's Petrushka

Sunday, September 15, 2024
The Sunday Morning Concert

Karina Canellakis conducts Stravinsky's Petrushka

Saturday, September 21, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

The wonderful solitude of Samuel Adams

Thursday, Sept. 26, 2024
Other series

Pieces of Tomorrow - Brahms 4

Friday, September 27, 2024
AVROTROS Friday Concert

Brahms and Beethoven

Sunday, September 29, 2024
The Sunday Morning Concert

Ronald Brautigam in Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 3

Saturday, October 5, 2024
NTR Saturday Matinee

Icelandic crown jewels

Follow us on social media